Home Beverages Vegan wines, how are they different?

Vegan wines, how are they different?

By nature, the grape juice, the cellar, the bottles… are vegan. No animal products are used in them. However, the wine goes through processes to eliminate the remains of proteins and yeasts in which products of animal origin are used. Today we tell you how the vegan wines of the traditional ones and examples of them. Do not miss it!

How are vegan wines different from traditional ones?

Vegan wines differ from traditional wines, above all, by their clarification. Which consists of a process of cleaning and eliminating impurities that can cloud it over time.

Thus, while traditional wines include products of animal origin in the clarification process, vegans, for their part, either omit these processes or include other types of clarifiers.

Vegan wines
Vegan wines | Source: Grupovidasol.es

What agents of animal origin are included in the treatment of wine?

Some of the agents that can be used in this process are edible jelly, which is usually made from animal cartilage; animal albumin, made up of egg albumin or dehydrated powdered blood; Fish tail, and casein and potassium caseinate, are obtained from milk.

Currently, there are more and more wineries that add up and prefer to use other substances that are not of animal origin to clarify the wine, such as protein from cereals or vegetables or the bentonite

Vegan wines
Vegan wine from Bodega Laus | Source: Bodegalaus.es

Finally, you should know that to know if a wine is vegan you just have to look at whether it has the European V-vegan or Vegan seal. And although in Spain there are still not many varieties of vegan wine, there are some that you can find, for example, in Grupo vidasol or at Bodega Laus.